Wednesday, June 13, 2007

vote for the new seven wonders of the world!

if the olympics are set for 08.08.08 (and it's going to be held in china), 07.07.07 is also quite a fortunate date, because that's when the new seven wonders of the world will be unveiled.

and what's more, you can actually have a say on who gets to make the cut.

n7w, or the new seven wonders, lists 21 other candidates that have a chance to belong in the new seven wonders of the world. n7w is a project of the new seven wonders foundation, who aims to restore various heritage sites in the world. the n7w project are collecting funds from voters worldwide to fund these restoration projects.

the 21 candidates are:
the acropolis - athens, greece
alhambra - granada, spain
angkor - cambodia
the pyramid at chichén itzá - yucatan peninsula, mexico
the statue of christ redeemer - rio de janeiro, brazil
the roman colosseum - rome, italy
the statues of easter island - easter island, chile
the eiffel tower - paris, france
the great wall of china - china
the hagia sophia - istanbul, turkey
kiyomizu temple - kyoto, japan
the kremlin and red square - moscow, russia
machu picchu - peru
neuschwanstein castle - schwangau, germany
petra - jordan
the statue of liberty - new york city, usa
stonehenge - amesbury, united kingdom
sydney opera house - sydney, australia
the taj mahal - agra, india
timbuktu - mali

the 21st candidate is actually the pyramids of giza, but after careful consideration, the foundation decided to make it an honorary n7w candidate, since it's the only remaining wonder of the old seven.

there are three different ways to vote:
1. online
you first have to register at the n7w site to get a free online vote. this type of voting gives you only one chance to vote.

2. by phone
there are various numbers that you can call to phone in your vote. you get to vote for two candidates for each call. calls to the numbers provided will be charged as normal international calls. you can keep phoning in your votes as many times as you like.

3. certificate voting
you can also do this online, but each certificate vote costs $2.00, because the foundation will send you an online certificate that you can print to commemorate your vote. you can keep voting in this manner as many times as you like.

voting ends july 6. announcement will be made in a special official declaration ceremony on july 7, 2007 (07.07.07) in estadio da luz, lisbon, portugal. tickets for this event are also sold in the n7w website.

1 comment:

Biby Cletus said...

Hello, i just surfed in searching for interesting blogs on new seven wonders of the world, you have a cool blog. Do keep up the good work. i live far from where you are and its nice to be able to see what people from across the world thinks.

Warm Regards from the Other Side of the Moon.

On a related note perhaps you might find the following links interesting. we're reviewing the best among the competing 21 participants for the new 7 wonders competition. i'll like to hear your take on the subject via comments. i'll be back soon...

The Kremlin and the Red Square
Angkor Wat
Eiffel Tower
Hagia Sophia

ps. if you have your own favourites list or if you'd like us to write about other wonders pls do mention about it in the comments.


Kerala, India